DigiTyps - De-stereotyping of Job Profiles and Training Concepts in the Digital Transformation (2021-2022)

Within the framework of the EU programme "Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme 2014-2020", L&R Social Research, in cooperation with the IHS, the BAB Unternehmensberatung and the Netzwerk Österreichischer Frauen- und Mädchenberatungsstellen (Network of Austrian Women's and Girls' Counselling Centres), is carrying out the two-year project "DigiTyps - De-stereotyping of occupational profiles and training concepts in the digital transformation". 

With the project, we are pursuing the question of whether the current upheavals taking place in the world of work represent an opportunity to modify gender-specific job and training attributions in such a way that can contribute to a dissolution of existing gender-specific stereotyping. 

In order to gain empirical-practical insights into how the current digital change could contribute to a dissolution or weakening of existing stereotypes, different empirical field research will be carried out in a first step with the active involvement of young apprentices and career starters, companies and labour market policy actors. This will take place in Vienna and Lower Austria, which represent three different regional types: an urban, a rural and an industrial region.

The central questions are: What new digital occupational fields and training are emerging in the regions? And how are these changes perceived from a gender perspective (focus on gender stereotyping)?  

The aim is to develop approaches based on concrete regional findings as to how strategies for reducing gender-specific stereotyping in the world of education and occupation can succeed in the course of digitalisation and how regional vocational orientation and training offers can be adapted. 

The project is supported by the Public Employment Service Austria, the Office of the Provincial Government of Lower Austria, the Vienna Employee Promotion Fund, the Women's Service of the City of Vienna (MA57), the Vienna Chamber of Labour and the Chamber of Labour for Lower Austria and co-financed by the European Commission.

Team: Nadja Bergmann, Claudia Sorger

Client: EU programme

Status: running

DigiTyps - Entstereotypisierung von Berufsbildern und Ausbildungskonzepten im digitalen Wandel (2021-2022)

Im Rahmen der EU-Programms „Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme 2014-2020“ führt L&R Sozialforschung in Kooperation mit dem IHS, der BAB Unternehmensberatung sowie dem Netzwerk Österreichischer Frauen- und Mädchenberatungsstellen das zweijährige Projekt „DigiTyps – Entstereotypisierung von Berufsbildern und Ausbildungskonzepten im digitalen Wandel“ durch. 

Mit dem Projekt gehen wir der Frage nach, ob die derzeitigen Umbrüche, die in der Arbeitswelt stattfinden, eine Möglichkeit darstellen, geschlechtsspezifische Berufs- und Ausbildungszuschreibungen so zu modifizieren, dass zu einer Auflösung bestehender geschlechtsspezifischer Stereotypisierungen beigetragen werden kann. 

Um empirisch-praktische Erkenntnisse dazu zu gewinnen, wie der derzeitige digitale Wandel zu einer Auflösung oder Abschwächung bestehender Stereotypen beitragen könnte, werden in einem ersten Schritt unter aktivem Einbezug von jungen Ausbildungs- und Berufseinsteiger*innen, Unternehmen sowie arbeitsmarktpolitische Akteur*innen unterschiedliche empirische Feldforschungen durchgeführt. Diese finden in Wien und Niederösterreich statt, die drei unterschiedliche regionale Typen abbilden: eine urbane, eine ländliche und eine industriell geprägte Region.

Die zentralen Fragestellungen sind: Welche neuen digitalen Berufsfelder und Ausbildungen entstehen in den Regionen? Und wie werden diese Veränderungen unter einer Geschlechterperspektive (Fokus Geschlechterstereotypisierung) wahrgenommen?  

Ziel ist es, auf Basis konkreter regionaler Erkenntnisse Ansätze zu erarbeiten, wie im Zuge der Digitalisierung Strategien zum Abbau der geschlechterspezifischen Stereotypisierungen in der Ausbildungs- und Berufswelt gelingen und wie regionale Berufsorientierungs- und Ausbildungsangebote adaptiert werden können. 

Das Projekt wird vom Arbeitsmarktservice Österreich, dem Amt der Niederösterreichischen Landesregierung, dem Wiener ArbeitnehmerInnen Förderungsfonds, dem Frauenservice der Stadt Wien (MA57), der Arbeiterkammer Wien und der Kammer für Arbeiter und Angestellte für Niederösterreich unterstützt und von Europäischen Kommission kofinanziert.  

Sie können sich hier für den DigiTyps-Newsletter zu laufenden News, Befunden, Befragungen und Veranstaltungen anmelden. 

MitarbeiterInnen: Nadja Bergmann, Claudia Sorger

AuftraggeberIn: EU-Programms "Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme 2014-2020", Ko-Finanzierung durch das Amt der Niederösterreichischen Landesregierung, dem Wiener ArbeitnehmerInnen Förderungsfonds, dem Frauenservice der Stadt Wien (MA57), der Arbeiterkammer Wien

Status: laufend